Welcome to KEFRI |

P.O Box 20412 - 0200 |

info@kefri.org |

+254 724 259781/2 |

Kenya Forestry Research Institute
A World Class Centre of Excellence in Forestry and Allied Natural Resources Research


The Kenya Forestry Research Institute (KEFRI) was established as a State Corporation in 1986 under the Science and Technology Act Chapter 250 of the Laws of Kenya to focus on forestry research. The Act was repealed by the Science, Technology and Innovation Act No. 28 of 2013. Kenya Forestry Research Institute is also mandated under the Forest Conservation and Management Act, 2016 to undertake forestry research.

Our Location

KEFRI headquarters is located in Muguga, 23 km north-west of Nairobi, off Nairobi - Nakuru highway. KEFRI has 5 regional research programmes with head offices in Gede, Kitui, Muguga, Londiani and Maseno. The Institute has one national centre located in Karura.

News Feed

Point mouse to stop the scrolling text. Click on the heading to view full article.

  • 14th August, 2020

    Clean Up Kenya Campaign

    President Uhuru Kenyatta announced the launch of a national clean-up campaign dubbed ‘Clean Up Kenya Campaign’ aimed at restoration of forests as well as recreational facilities for beautification and regeneration of the environment. ...

  • 26th June, 2020

    Africa Public Service Day

    The Ministry of Environment and Forestry led stakeholders and its state agencies in marking Africa Public Service Day with a tree planting exercise in Kaptagat forest,...

  • 25th June, 2020

    Embogut forest Public Baraza

    The PS for Environment and Forestry, Dr. Chris Kiptoo accompanied by EU Ambassador Simon Mordue, UNDP representative Khalid Badawi, CAS for Agriculture Linah Kilimo and Hon. Alex Tolgos Governor Elgeyo Markawet presided over a public baraza in Embogut forest...

  • 18th May, 2020

    KEFRI establish tree nursery for restoring Michuki Memorial Park

    KEFRI is establishing a tree nursery for sustenance of Michuki Memorial Park in Nairobi County. .....

  • 2nd February, 2020

    KEFRI and ICRAF Renew Partnership

    KEFRI will renew a long existing partnership with ICRAF aiming to develop commercial forestry and restoration of landscape in Kenya. .....

  • 2nd February, 2020

    World Wetlands Day

    The Ministry of Environment and Forestry led Kenya in marking World Wetlands Day on 2nd February at Enapuiyapui Swamp, Kiptunga Forest, Nakuru County. The global event was this year marked under the theme “Wetlands and Biodiversity”.....

  • 4th February, 2020

    Awareness and Sensitization on Counter Terrorism and Violent Extremism

    Kenya Forestry Research Institute (KEFRI) conducted an awareness and sensitization on Counter terrorism and violence extremism to ensure staff are well prepared in case of any eventuality ....

  • 15th January, 2020

    Tree planting in memory of Dr. Luke Potter

    KEFRI in collaboration with Gatsby Charitable Foundation has planted trees at Sumitomo Nursery in KEFRI headquarter in memory of the late Dr. Luke Potter, Former ....

  • News Archieves

KEFRI Graduate Research School

  • KEFRI Graduate Research School (KGRS) Profile


  • KEFRI Graduate Research School (KGRS) will soon be announcing call for applications for the financial year 2021-2022. Keep Checking
  • KEFRI Recruitment

    Our Partners

    © 2019 Kenya Forestry Research Institute.

    Designed: KEFRI ICT Team